by Trio Flux

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

    Also included: 12-page Extended Liner Notes Booklet (pdf) including details on the all the songs, the performances, recording process, gear, etc.

      $10 USD  or more


  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    Comes in a beautifully designed 4-panel digipak with artwork by Elizabeth Mattson.

    Includes unlimited streaming of Möbius via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 1 day

      $12 USD or more 




Though rooted strongly in electric jazz fusion, Möbius embodies a confluence of Trio Flux members’ diverse musical backgrounds and interests. Each song reflects both the leading vision of composer/guitarist Neil Mattson and the arrangement contributions of bassist Julio Appling and drummer Adam Ochshorn.

Unique to Trio Flux’s second album, a strong roster of additional talent collaborated with the band, including Andrew Oliver (Fender Rhodes), Marc Hutchinson (tenor sax), James M. Gregg (trumpet), and Mary Flower (slide guitars). Riley Geare, with his well-earned indie-rock credentials (Unknown Mortal Orchestra, Radiation City, The Tomorrow People), produced.

Featuring expanded instrumentation, “Power Fade” and “Cross-Walk” are cut from the classic jazz-fusion cloth of Weather Report or electric Miles Davis, who gets an explicit nod with “The Nardis,” a prog-rock cover of the classic Davis tune “Nardis.” Featuring renowned blues guitarist Mary Flower, “For the Simple Reason Is” bridges the acoustic/electric divide, taking listeners on a walk into blues before the album strips to the fully acoustic trio for the folksy samba “Tribute.” The complex song structure and soaring guitar melody of “Cage Free” provide an intense climax, and the introspective “May 12th” brings the thrilling musical adventure to a close.

“Neil Mattson's guitar riffs range from the smoothest of smooth to gritty distortion, sometimes in the same song. Bassist Julio Appling and drummer Adam Ochshorn provide the cool heart of the album, playing seamlessly off each other regardless of what else is happening around them.” Rebecca Wilson - Portland Mercury

“There is something totally seductive about the sound coming out of Neil Mattson’s guitar” Tom D’Antoni - Oregon Music News


released May 5, 2013

Trio Flux is:

Neil Mattson // guitars, Fender Rhodes on 7
Julio Appling // bass
Adam Ochshorn // drums, percussion on 3

All songs composed by Neil Mattson (BMI)
"The Nardis" is an adaptation of "Nardis" by Miles Davis

special guests:

Andrew Oliver // Fender Rhodes on 1, 3, 6
Marc Hutchinson // tenor sax on 1, 3
Mary Flower // acoustic and electric slide guitars on 2
James M. Gregg // trumpet on 3, 4

Produced by Riley Geare and Neil Mattson
Co-produced by Rob Stroup
Recorded and Mixed by Rob Stroup at 8 Ball Studio in Portland, OR
Mastered by Nick Moon at Tone Proper Mastering in Troutdale, OR
Cover knot by Elizabeth Mattson
Photography by Tim Denison
Design by Noah Bernstein




all rights reserved


Trio Flux Portland, Oregon

Trio Flux is the collaborative effort of three talented Portland musicians, Neil Mattson (guitar), Julio Appling (bass), and Adam Ochshorn (drums). The trio brings together a wide array of musical moods and textures, stretching the bounds of the traditional guitar-bass-drums jazz trio. ... more

contact / help

Contact Trio Flux

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code